The Athelstone Soccer and Supporters Club was officially formed at the inaugural meeting of the club held at the Reservoir Hotel on Wednesday the 5th of September 1973. The clubs colours of royal blue and white along with the emblem, a rampant lion above the River Torrens and below the three hills of Athelstone were decided upon at this meeting.

In 1974 Athelstone fielded 100 registered players in six teams ranging from Under 8’s, 10’s, 14’s as well as a junior and senior amateur team in SAASL Div 5. Games were played at Campbelltown High School, Murray Park and Athelstone Primary School, while the U14’s played all of their games away due to a lack of facilities.

The original clubrooms proposed for the club was the old ammunitions factory located on Lower Athelstone Road, however due to local residents objecting over the inevitable increase in noise and traffic the clubrooms were built behind the factory next to the newly seeded pitches at Athelstone Recreation Reserve. The Club purchased the old Woodcraft Shop from Angle Park Technical School for $14,000 in late 1978. The “new” clubrooms, arguably the best in the league at the time were officially opened in March 1980.

A proud record that our reserves team holds is that they won five consecutive league championships between 1979-1982 and in the process went undefeated for 52 consecutive league games and winning Div 5 in 1978, Div 4 in 1979 and 1981, Div 3 in 1980 and 1982.

Athelstone Soccer Club gained promotion to SAASL Div 2 after coming Div 3 League Runners-up in 1982, instead they chose to enter the SASF Div 3 Metropolitan League (old State League) with Ron Cooper heading the coaching staff. They did however maintain an amateur team in SAASL Div 6. In 1983 Athelstone Soccer and Supporters Club’s Reserve and U18 teams were crowned SASF Metropolitan League Champions.

People that have helped shape this proud and well respected club of the SAASL include: W. Bell, Michael Barry, John Bowden, K. Burton, B. Carr, F. Engelsma, D. Fines, M. Fitzhenry, Rusty Giles, Fred Goldstone, I & N Gossland, J. Goulding, Martyn Hilliard, Roger Leedham, Alan Lomax, Chris McKenna, Andrew Orfanos, M. Porter, Frank & M Simcock, Colin & D Smart, Raymond Thorne, H. Thornton, S. Ward, M. Wells, P. Zappia.

Share This